Sitenotice.png last updated on 1 June 2013

Welcome to Pikmin Fanon!

  • If you are a new user, please visit our Community Guide so you can get started right away, and if you need extended help, ask your fellow users!
  • If you are an older user, get ready for some big changes coming your way! Read for more details.

PikminFanon:Deletion Policy

From Pikmin Fanon
Jump to: navigation, search
Pikilogo.png This page contains information relating one of Pikmin Fanon's policies. Pikilogo.png

The Deletion Policy covers some rules and guidelines of what to delete, when to delete and why to delete.

Deletion Policy[edit]

Generally articles may be immediately deleted when they are either

  • Pages created just to vandalize or disrupt
  • Patent nonsense (total gibberish)
  • Unused duplicate images
  • Too short (depends on the subject)

In other cases, there are more things to consider.

Deciding whether to delete[edit]

  1. Whether a "rough consensus" has been achieved
  2. Use common sense and respect the judgment and feelings of Wiki participants.
  3. When in doubt, don't delete.

On deleting pages[edit]

Here are some guidelines sysops should follow in making the decision to delete a page or not.

  1. When deleting a page, one may or may not want to delete its talk page or any subpages as well. If the talk page is not deleted, put a link to the deletion discussion thread on the talk page.
  2. Simply deleting a page does not automatically delete its talk page. If you delete these as well, do that first, and then the main page.
  3. When filling in the "Reason for deletion" text, ensure that the following is not included:
    • Any copyright infringing text
    • Personal information of users
  4. Redirects to deleted pages should be deleted or redirected elsewhere to avoid broken redirects.
  5. If an article title needs to be deleted, but some of the content could be used in a different (existing) article, proceed as follows: move the article from really silly article title to a better title, in order to preserve the history. Next, copy the content to the existing article, with an edit comment like (moved content from really silly article title - see the page history of better title for author attribution). The really silly article title will then be a redirect with no page history which can be deleted. Better title would then be changed to redirect to existing article.

Unused Images[edit]

Users are supposed to use all images they upload within 24 hours, otherwise they are eligible for deletion. Images that do not appear on any pages automatically get listed on Special:UnusedFiles. However, aside from personal images, being unused in and of itself is not enough reason for an image to be deleted: the image could indeed be useful somewhere, so it is always good to check before deleting unused files. Additionally, simply saying "unused" is not a valid reason when marking images with {{delete}}. Images are often unused because they were replaced, in which case, the replacement file must be linked to in the delete template and at least named in the deletion log.

Things to remember[edit]

  • Excessive and/or unjustified deleting can result in loss of sysop powers.

See also[edit]